• There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Why Knowing Your Partner's Love Language Can Strengthen Your Bond

A key to healthy relationships is understanding how best to express your love to your partner—loving in a way that resonates with them and fulfills their needs. Dr. Gary Chapman devised a meaningful method to communicate with your partner and show your affection based on their innate preferences. Dubbed the Love Languages, this approach relies on the theory that every individual has a predisposition to and identifies more heavily with one of five ways to spread and receive love.

A married couple enjoying a picnic overlooking a vistaThe Five Love Languages

Chapman's five distinct love languages encompass a wide range of communication and emotional needs. In Chapman’s work, he labels them as follows:

  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Physical Touch
  • Acts of Service

If you are unsure of your love language, take the love language quiz to zero in on your native language as well as your partner’s proclivity. Once you learn your partner's love language, you can reach them on a deeper level and improve the dynamics of your relationship.

Enhance Your Relationship with These Benefits

Here are just a few of the benefits of embracing your partner's love language.

Improves Communication

Knowing your partner’s love language allows you to meet their needs before they even express them. You are less likely to have miscommunication issues if you know how to reach the other person on their level best. This interchange will grow your relationship on deeper levels.

For example, if your love language is receiving gifts, receiving a gift can uplift your day and completely change your mood. To your partner, receiving gifts may be a nice gesture, but if acts of service mean more to them, preparing breakfast or giving them a “night off” from their duties may be appreciated far more. Taking time to study what means the most to each other will help you and your partner anticipate each other’s needs beforehand and communicate better.

Related reading: "The Stop, Drop, and Roll of Successful Communication in Relationships."

A husband gives his wife a gift exercising the love language of giftsEnhances Appreciation

Once you know your partner's love language, it will become more apparent how they use that tenant to try to please you and show their love. Understanding when your partner uses their love language to show appreciation will help you recognize their efforts to love you.

Knowing how they express love will help you to see when they are trying to please you. For example, if your partner's language is physical touch, you will understand that they are showing you their highest form of love when they extend this affection to you. However, it is also essential to communicate to your partner how you feel love so they can also learn to show you love with your preference.

Increases Connection

One of the most significant indicators of a successful relationship is your ability to connect with your partner on multiple levels. If you are trying to express your love in a love language that your partner doesn’t relate to, it is no surprise that there will be a disconnect. Despite your best efforts, they might not receive that affection if you are not using the language that best reaches them. For example, if your partner’s love language is acts of service, and you show your love by buying them gifts, they may not appreciate your efforts. They may even miss your caring altogether since you’re not speaking a language that is natural to them.

For those whose love language is quality time, you may need to adjust to sharing everyday activities rather than doing them alone. Studies have shown that doing everyday activities with your partner by your side, such as working out together or preparing meals together, can strengthen your bond and help you rely on and get through challenges together. Plus, this together time will mean a lot to a partner whose love language is quality time.

Related reading: "Keys to Healthy Love and a Happy Relationship."

Couple adventuring on a lakePrevents Problems

Once you get into the habit of using the principle of the five love languages to communicate and express love, you will undoubtedly see how it helps you manage expectations and avoid potential issues in your relationship.

It is important to understand that it is unnecessary for you and your partner to speak the same love language. The key is understanding your partner's language and using that as the springboard for how you communicate with them. Also, you do not have to limit this principle of love languages to your intimate relationship. Learning the love language of your close friends, your children, and other important relationships will enhance the connections that you share with all your loved ones.

Making an effort to reach your loved one on their level will pay big dividends for your relationship. The value will speak for itself once you begin to apply these principles to how you express love and communicate. You and your partner deserve to be loved by each other in the best way possible. It pays to take the time to explore and study each other to figure out how to connect best and express love.

Don’t take our word for it. Take love languages out for a test drive.

Related reading: "Love Is a Choice - the Best Marriage Advice."

For customized couples mentoring that will enhance your relationship, contact us at support@heartmanity.com.  

If you're ready to dig in, schedule a Discovery Session to see if we're a fit for you.

Sign me up!

For more on our guest author, check out Lovely Roses.

Like the article? Help us spread the word and share it!

Guest Blogger: Austin WinderGuest Blogger: Austin Winder
Austin Winder is a Public Relations Specialist on behalf of Lovely Roses. He lives in Memphis, TN and graduated with a business and marketing degree from the University of Memphis.

Posted in Love, Marriage, and Relationships

Free Newsletter!

Featured Online Courses

Online Course - Emotional Fitness for the 21st Century 4 Keys to Unlocking the Power of Empathy